Our Illustrator

I’m so excited to be working with illustrator, Mary Kinsora, for all of our wedding goodies. She creates the most adorable images that I know will bring out the happiness Nick and I share about our future together. Here’s some of my favorites of her work! These can be found across her Website, Tumblr, and Instagram:

Mary lives in the Metro-Detroit area of Michigan and graduated from the College of Creative Studies in 2013. She’s gone on to freelance for many businesses, and now works illustrating for children’s books. It’s a dream come true! She’s so perfect for it.

And as luck would have it, she’s a friend of ours. She’s so talented and delightful that I cannot wait to see her sketches. We plan to have her illustrate all of our paper goods for all things wedding – invites, programs, seating chart, etc.

Below are some pics of how she illustrates people, to get an idea of what Nick and myself will end up looking like:

Don’t worry, I’ll be posting more as we have our own likenesses created.

She’s not limited to just cutesy illustration though, she’s also very talented at realism:

 

And finally, some Q&A!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Tell us something about yourself that we wouldn’t know from the all-powerful internet.

Some of my favorite things to watch or read about are forensics and murder investigations. I love cuteness, bright pastel colors, dresses, tea parties, and forensics.

What’s your favorite project you’ve worked on (school, work, or for fun)?

Eee, that’s tough. I would have to say that my favorite project was the tea set I applied my art work to. I haven’t used it yet- and I’m not sure if I even want to sell it! I love it so much, but haven’t used it just in case I want to sell it. Make sense? Anyway, I’m leaning toward licensing in the future, so this was the first real “product” I developed, and I’m still in love with it.

…Can you share the final images with us?

If you want me toooo….

I also made some tea etiquette cards for the tea set with each character. Just some tips for newbie tea drinkers. :]

How do you use technology in your work?

I use a number of Adobe programs- Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, After Effects- you know, the usual. Happiness and development comes with variety. On top of drawing and painting, I like to animate, I experiment with video a bit, and I’m even learning to do some web design! New programs and technology are good things! Where can I take my work next.

Where do you find most of your inspiration?

I would say I find a lot of my inspiration in the books I read (usually late 19th-early 20th century fiction), old family stories, walks outside, and animals. I love animals. I might have too many pets, but they bring me a lot of fuel for inspiration.

What’s something you haven’t worked on yet that you would like to?

Most of the things I end up pushing aside are hobbies and crafts I’d like to do. I’m reading about needle felting at the moment! I’d like to be able to draw characters, felt them, and possibly animate them with stop motion. I’m a huge fan of stop motion animation. My friend and I are discussing plans for create animated shorts, but it’s still a long way off! I’ve also had a graphic novel stirring around in my head for a solid year. I hope to jump on that this summer!

Are you currently learning any new techniques or programs?

I recently started using Gouache paint. I normally work in water color, and it’s surprisingly a big adjustment! Gouache paint, unlike watercolor, is pure pigment, so getting the colors correct is a struggle. I keep using the gouache like it’s watercolor, too much water. It’s tough, but I’m loving it! I’m developing a secondary style of drawing  to use for my own devices. It’s more realistic than my children’s book style I’m known for, so we’ll see how that goes over!

What’s next for you and your career?

I’ve teamed up with a child psychologist and a writer, and together we’re starting our own kids media company. A lot of it is still in the works, but I’m really excited about some of the projects we have in mind! A lot of the projects I have coming up have to do with the education and the betterment of children. Teaching them to live without fear and rely on confidence. I love it! Also, I’m attending a Licensing Expo this summer to learn about the glamorous world of licensing artwork and selling products! So on top of launching a kids media company, illustrating educational books, and raising four hammies, a rabbit, and a fish, I’m going to be working on my own company and licensing my artwork on to products. I like to be busy.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Mary has a Tumblr, Instagram, and Website if anyone wants to follow her work or learn more about her:

Tumblr: HammyHouse

Instagram: MKinsora

Website: MaryKinsora.com

And from Nick and myself, the biggest of thanks to Mary for sharing her talent with us on our special day!

Mary01 Mary02

2 thoughts on “Our Illustrator

  1. Pingback: Planning Status – Things Are Coming Together | Our Detroit Wedding

Comment

