I Went to a Bridal Show and Won a Vacation!

On Sunday, Jan. 19th I took my mom, maid of honor, and one of my bridesmaids to the big bridal show happening at The Palace. When we got there, there was a massive line curling inside the building and shooting straight out the door for about 100 feet. Having already been to two shows, I was in no rush to stand in that freezing line, so the four of us waited in the car for the line to at least get inside the building. I’m mature and wrote “Megan <3s Poop” on the window as it started to fog up. A doodle was included.

An hour goes by and the line never dwindles. My brave sister runs out and stands in line for us, so that we can join her as she gets closer. She’s such a great Maid of Honor! This is the kind of stuff I meant back when I gave her a separate blog entry – she’s soooooo nice.

Once inside, we scanned the tables rather quickly. We were really only looking for a tent vendor that would be able to get the tents to a rooftop. But we also stopped anywhere with food/cake samples or with a contest. I signed up for so much! I’m definitely one of those people.

And it paid off! After the fashion show, my name was announced for the big All-Inclusive Resort vacation winner! AHHHHHH! My heart was racing so much, my hands were shaking, and I was getting hot. I ran down from where we were seated to meet them backstage and sign the paper. Since my hand was shaking and that signature looked real bad.

??????????

??????????

The prize was a 4 day, 3 night stay at one of two all-inclusive Sirenis resorts. We could choose either Punta Cana, Domincan Republic or Riviera Maya, Mexico. The vacation is only valid for a year though, so it will just end up being a random trip for Nick and I rather than a honeymoon (oh shucks *sarcasm!*). We plan to go between his summer and fall semester.

I’m so excited! I looked up the two resorts so that I could choose the one that best fit us. We’ve decided on Punta Cana since the resort has more included in its all-inclusive package. Both were highly reviewed though, and both come with drinks and a beach, so I know we would’ve been happy choosing either one.

Have you ever won anything? Tell me about it in a comment below!

8 thoughts on “I Went to a Bridal Show and Won a Vacation!

  1. Oh my goodness! That’s SO great – well done! Entering contests is the only reason why I’m considering going to a wedding show. You’ve given me hope of winning something now. The only thing I’ve ever really won was a free Meccano set when I was about eight. I would be more excited about a trip to the Dominican Republic though!

    • I bet to an 8-yr-old that it was really fantastic though! And yes, get out there and put your name into all the contests. Get a wedding-only email first though so all that spam doesn’t clog up your real email.
      Also – never pay full price for a wedding show. There’s a ton of “$-off” coupons available, as well as people selling them cheap or free on Craigslist. I actually get mine for free through work, so I’ll probably be going just to enter contests for each one lol.

  2. My fiance and I took a trip to Hawaii in October of 2013 (pre-wedding) and it ended up being SUCH a great trip for us. I am sure it will be the same for you guys 🙂

Comment

